2017 AfroBasket: Nigeria’s D’Tigers in Group A

Chamberlin Ugochi (FIBA.com)
Chamberlin Ugochi (FIBA.com)

Nigeria’s national basketball team, D’Tigers have been drawn in Group A of the FIBA  AfroBasket 2017 that will be jointly hosted by Senegal and Tunisia from Sept. 8 to Sept. 16.

According to a report on the FIBA-Africa website, the competition’s organisers, Nigeria, who are the reigning champions, have been drawn alongside DR Congo, Mali and Cote D’Ivoire.

The official draw for the competition took place on Sunday, 16th Juluy 2019  in Balaclava, Mauritius.

Group B of the competition has Angola, Central African Republic, Central African Republic and Uganda, while Group C has co-hosted Tunisia as well as Guinea, Guinea and Cameroon.

Co-hosts Senegal have been drawn in Group D and has Mozambique, Egypt and South Africa to contend with.

The Group Phase of the competition will take place simultaneously in Senegal’s capital city of Dakar and Tunisia’s Tunis from Sept. 8 to Sept. 10.

Dakar will host Group B and Group D, while teams drawn in groups A and C will compete in Tunis.

The bottom two teams from each group in the Group Phase will be knocked out of the competition, which is the African continent’s flagship basketball event.

The top two teams from the groups in Dakar will advance to join their counterparts in Tunis, which will now solely host the Final Phase.

The Tunisian capital city will go on to host matches of the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals from Sept. 14 to Sept. 16.

Sunday’s draw ceremony also served to unveil the newly-designed FIBA AfroBasket trophy in a video.

The new trophy, which will be handed out for the first time on Sept. 16 to the FIBA AfroBasket 2017 champions, has an etched map of Africa engraved on it.

It also has all the past continental champions from the competition’s editions from 1962 to 2015.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Protected by WP Anti Spam