2013-world-cup-of-darts-winners-england-phil-taylor-adrian-lewis World Cup of darts

32 nations are to be represented in the bwin World Cup of Darts holding  in Hamburg from June 6-8 and £200,000 prize money on offer with England seeking to retain the title which she won in 2013 in the Doubles event.

The Two-player teams tournament is been expanded to feature 32 countries invited to compete this year across three days at the Sporthalle Hamburg.

France, China, Hong Kong, Singapore, Thailand and India will all make their debuts in the PDC’s World Cup of Darts, as the sport global growth continues.

They join established nations including England, the 2012 and 2013 World Cup of Darts winners, the 2010 champions Netherlands, host nation Germany and the likes of the USA, Canada, Australia, Scotland, Wales, Ireland and Northern Ireland.

England will field the same two-player team for a third successive year as Phil Taylor and Adrian Lewis line up to defend their title, while World Champion Michael van Gerwen is partnered by Raymond van Barneveld for a second successive year in the Dutch team.

World Championship finalist Peter Wright returns to the World Cup stage for Scotland alongside Robert Thornton.
Welsh duo Mark Webster and Richie Burnett link up once again, with Brendan Dolan and Michael Mansell continuing their partnership for Northern Ireland and Ireland seeing Connie Finnan and William O’Connor travel to compete in Germany.

Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson once again represent Australia – having been the beaten finalists in 2012 – while three-time World Champion John Part is joined by Shaun Narain in the Canadian team.

Darin Young and Larry Butler will spearhead the American challenge, while last year’s beaten finalists, brothers Kim and Ronny Huybrechts, will again compete for Belgium.

The growth of top-class darts in Scandinavia is shown with the inclusion of Norway – represented by Robert Wagner and Vegar Elvevoll – alongside last year’s semi-finalists Finland and their rivals Sweden and Denmark.

Finland, who knocked out the Netherlands and Australia 12 months ago will again rest their hopes on Jani Haavisto and Jarkko Komula, with former World Championship qualifiers Per Laursen and Dennis Lindskjold in action for Denmark and Magnus Caris joined by Peter Sajwani in the Sweden team.

Germany are again represented by Jyhan Artut and Andree Welge, with Mensur Suljovic joined in the Austrian team by Rowby-John Rodriguez, the PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship finalist who is making his mark this year.

Spain, who reached the 2010 World Cup of Darts semi-finals, will again be represented by Antonio Alcinas and Carlos Rodriguez, while Dylan Duo and Dyson Parody once more team up for Gibraltar.

Rob Szabo, who represented New Zealand in the 2014 World Championship, will make his World Cup debut alongside Craig Caldwell, who competed in Germany last year.

while Japanese pair Morihiro Hashimoto and Haruki Muramatsu team up once again.

While both Hungary and Poland have previously competed twice in the World Cup of Darts and Russia, Malaysia and Italy have on appearance apiece, seven new nations will be making their debuts in the tournament this year.

The expansion of the sport across Asia is highlighted with PDC Tour Card Holder Royden Lam spearheading Hong Kong’s first World Cup of Darts event alongside Scott Mackenzie, a former World Championship qualifier.

Recent PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship qualifier Amit Gilitwala will be representing India, while the legendary veteran star Paul Lim is in action for Singapore alongside Harith Lim.

Unfortunately, Africa is left behind in the global strategy towards the development of darts as a global sport. South Africa is the only country from the continental participating in the event. South Africa shall be represented by World Championship star Devon Petersen who will be partnered with South Graham Filby.

Bwin World Cup of Darts.

Friday June 6
Afternoon Session
2pm-6pm local time (1pm-5pm BST)
8x First Round games

Evening Session
8pm-12am local time (7pm-11pm BST)
8x First Round games

Saturday June 7
Afternoon Session
2pm-6pm local time (1pm-5pm BST)
4x Second Round games

Evening Session
8pm-12am local time (7pm-11pm BST)
4x Second Round games

Sunday June 8
Afternoon Session
2pm-6pm local time (1pm-5pm BST)

Evening Session
8pm-12am local time (7pm-11pm BST)

bwin World Cup of Darts Competing Nations
Seeded Nations
1 – England (Phil Taylor & Adrian Lewis)
2 – Netherlands (Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld)
3 – Scotland (Peter Wright & Robert Thornton)
4 – Australia (Simon Whitlock & Paul Nicholson)
5 – Wales (Mark Webster & Richie Burnett)
6 – Northern Ireland (Brendan Dolan & Michael Mansell)
7 – Belgium (Kim Huybrechts & Ronny Huybrechts)
8 – Republic of Ireland (Connie Finnan & William O’Connor)
9 – Germany (Jyhan Artut & Andree Welge)
10 – Austria (Mensur Suljovic & Rowby-John Rodriguez
11 – Canada (John Part & Shaun Narain)
12 – Finland (Jarkko Komula & Jani Haavisto)
13 – Hong Kong (Ting Chi Royden Lam & Scott Mackenzie)
14 – Sweden (Magnus Caris & Peter Sajwani)
15 – Spain (Antonio Alcinas & Carlos Rodriguez)
16 – USA (Darin Young & Larry Butler)

Unseeded Nations
China (Yin Deng & Jun Cai)
Denmark (Per Laursen & Dennis Lindskjold)
France (Jacques Labre & Lionel Maranhao)
Gibraltar (Dylan Duo & Dyson Parody)
Hungary (Zsolt Meszaros & Nandor Bezzeg)
India (Amit Gilitwala & Nitan Kumar)
Italy (Marco Brentegani & Daniele Petri)
Japan (Morihiro Hashimoto & Haruki Muramatsu)
Malaysia (Kesava Roa & Thomat Darus)
New Zealand (Rob Szabo & Craig Caldwell)
Norway (Robert Wagner & Vegar Elvevoll)
Poland (Krzysztof Chmielewski & Krzysztof Strozyk)
Russia (Evgenii Zhukov & Evgenii Izotov)
Singapore (Paul Lim & Harith Lim)
South Africa (Devon Petersen & Graham Filby)
Thailand (Thanawat Gaweenuntawong & Watanyu Charoonroj)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Protected by WP Anti Spam