Alhassan, Maikaba named LEAGUE BLOGGERS AWARD Winner.


Akwa United FC duo of Alhassan Ibrahim and Abdu Maikaba have been named League Bloggers Award (LBA) Player and Manager for April respectively following their outstanding performances in the Nigeria ProfessionalFootball League (NPFL) in the month under review.

The League Bloggers are online sports writers who follow and write about the Nigeria local league and football.

Alhassan emerged winner of the player’s award for April after seeing off challenges from the trio of Chinedu Udechukwu of Katsina United FC, Nasarawa United FC defender Yinka Onaolapo and Lobi Stars FC forward Anthony Okpotu.
The Akwa United FC attacking midfielder accounted for four of his team’s seven goals scored in April and also capped his outing for last month with a fine assist that helped the Uyo club to a 1-0 win at four-time
Nigerian champions Kano Pillars.
Akwa United FC made it a clean sweep in April as Maikaba claimed the manager’s prize ahead of Plateau United’s Kennedy Boboye, Kabiru Dogo of Nasarawa United and FC Ifeanyiubah’s Ghanaian coach Yaw Preko.
Maikaba led his team to a 100 per cent record in April – a feat only achieved by Boboye in the same month, though the Akwa United FC manager edged his Plateau United counterpart by three points.
The former Wikki Tourists head coach masterminded wins for Akwa United from the dugout against 3SC, MFM FC and at Kano Pillars FC.
The next League Bloggers monthly award will look at the performances of player and coaches in the Nigera Professional football league NPFL for the month of May.
January 2017
Player: Stephen Odey (MFM)
Manager: Kennedy Boboye (Plateau Utd)
February 2017
Player: Sunday Adetunji (Abia Warriors)
Manager: Ladan Bosso (El-Kanemi Warriors)
March 2017
Player: Stephen Odey (MFM FC)
Manager: Fidelis Ilechukwu (MFM FC)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Protected by WP Anti Spam