ENGLAND will open their bid to win a third successive bwin World Cup of Darts title against debutantes Thailand when the 32-team tournament kicks off in Hamburg on 6th – 8th, 2014 at the Sporthalle Hamburg, Germany.  With the expansion of the tournament to 32 nations this year, the event will have a knockout format throughout.

The opening match in this year’s event will see 16 times world champion, Phil Taylor who is pairing with fellow English man and 2 times world champion, Adrian Lewis play against Thailand’s Thanawat Gaweenuntawong and Watanyu Charoonroj one of the seven nations making their World Cup of Darts debut after being drawn in the first round.

Number two seeds and winners of the maiden tournament in 2010, Netherlandsand, is drawn against Italy as current world champion, Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld face Marco Brantegani and Daniele Petri.

Scotland’s Peter Wright and Robert Thornton, the number three seeds, have been drawn against Russia’s Evgenii Zhukov and Evgenii Izotov in the first round, while fourth seeds Australia, represented once again by Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson, face a tough test against Danish duo Per Laursen and Dennis Lindskjold.

Former finalists Wales and Belgium both face nations making their World Cup debuts, in France and India respectively, while Singapore is drawn against the  number eight seeds Ireland and Norway drew Hong Kong, who are also making their first World Cup appearance.

Northern Ireland face Malaysia, Austria take on China, last year’s semi-finalists Finland meet Poland and Sweden meet Gibraltar, while the USA take on Hungary and Canada will open up against Japan.

Host nation Germany have drawn South Africa to contend with, while former semi-finalists Spain drew New Zealand.

bwin World Cup of Darts
First Round Draw & Tournament Bracket

England (1) v Thailand
USA (16) v Hungary
Republic of Ireland (8) v Singapore
Germany (9) v South Africa
Wales (5) v France
Finland (12) v Poland
Australia (4) v Denmark
Hong Kong (13) v Norway
Netherlands (2) v Italy
Spain (15) v New Zealand
Belgium (7) v India
Austria (10) v China
Northern Ireland (6) v Malaysia
Canada (11) v Japan
Scotland (3) v Russia
Sweden (14) v Gibraltar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Protected by WP Anti Spam