3rd Lagos International Badminton Classic
3rd Lagos International Badminton Classic
3rd Lagos International Badminton Classic
3rd Lagos International Badminton Classic

Nigeria has topped the list of the qualifiers into the main event at the 3rd Lagos International Badminton Classics taking place at the Sir Molade Okoya Gymnasium of the Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere, Lagos which started on Tuesday, 25th July with 11 countries participating in the 2017 edition.

The 2rd day of the event featured the various matches in the 8th qualifying groups  in the Men’s and and Women’s singles. After defeating Ghana’s Andrew Sunday in the 2nd of the Q1 qualifiers,  Nigeria’s Anuoluwapo Juwon Opeyori defeated his fellow countryman Odunayo Sunday Olawale 2 – 0 (21-8, 21 – 11) in the final’s of the Q1 of the men single.

In the men’s singles Q2 qualifiers finals. Ghana’s  Michael Opuku Bash defeated fellow Ghanaian Abraham Ayittey  2 – 1 (17-21, 21-19, 21-12) to win the group. Michaels Opuku defeated Gbenoukpo Sebastino Degbe of Benin 2 -0 in round 2 while Abraham Ayittey beat Nigeria’s Ganiyu Sulyman (NGR) 2-0.

In the Women’s Singles qualifiers group, Ghana’s Grace Arisa qualified by defeating Beninoise’s Xena Arisa 2 – 0 (21-13, 21-0),  Adjele Joeline Degbey (BEN) lost to Ghana’s Eunice Abena Aurthur 2 – 0 (21-16, 21 -10) and Nigeria’s Ramatu Yakubu beat Eyram Yaa Magbodu 2 -0 (21-6, 21-6).

Nigeria got 8 of the 16 slots available in the singles  qualifiers event.

Below is the list of all the qualifiers include,

Men Single’s

  1. Anuoluwapo Juwon Opeyeri (NGR)
  2. Michael Opuku Bash (GHA).
  3. Isaac Minaphee (NGR)
  4. Ahmad Balarabe Umar (NGR)
  5. Emmanuel Yaw Donkor (GHA)
  6. Kayode Samuel Oyeniran (NGR)
  7. Tobilola Oyewole (BEN)
  8. Mujittapha Umar (NGR)

Women Single’s

  1. Grace Annabel Atipaka (GHA).
  2. Eunice Abena Authur (GHA).
  3. Ramatu Yakubu (NGR)
  4. Uchechukwu Deborah UKeh (NGR)
  5. Stella Bentum (GHA).
  6. Stella Koteiki Amasah (GHA).
  7. Faridah Umar (NGR).
  8. Pascaline Ludoskine Yeno Vitou (BEN).



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Protected by WP Anti Spam